Podcasts > Jocko Podcast #10 - Police, Cussing, and Stress

Comments Showing 1-10 of 10 (10 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Kristi (new)

Kristi (kristicoleman) Jocko Discussed:
Video:

Book: With the Old Breed: At Peleliu and Okinawa by Eugene B. Sledge

Questions:
1. How do you balance Extreme Ownership with holding others accountable for their actions and avoiding them using you?
2. I'm entering the police academy in a few weeks and I'll be a police officer in 6 mo. I have no military background and have very little experience with true confrontation and violence. What are the best ways a police officer can condition themselves to violence and confrontation? I currently train BJJ but I am curious what else I can do to keep myself and others safe from unpredictable violence. This is not a self defense question but a mental conditioning question.
3. I have 3 little girls and I'm really intrigued by BJJ, what form of martial arts would you put your kids in?
4. How do you overcome friction as a new leader? (new company/new job)
5. How do you learn/practice detachment in real time?
6. What do you think of people in leadership roles who curse?
7. What techniques do you use to deal with situational stress from battlefield to boardroom?

message 2: by Charlotte (new)

Charlotte Allen The discussion about the toll of relentless mortar fire on the troops was riveting! What must the emotional and psychological impact been like....unimaginable. I felt anxious just thinking about the utter helplessness and the dread of what could, and did, happen at any moment! The waiting...

Makes my worst day look like a unicorn party: I'm humbled.

message 3: by Jocko (new)

Jocko Willink | 8 comments Unicorn party actually sounds pretty stressful to me.

message 4: by Jocko (new)

Jocko Willink | 8 comments Unicorn party actually sounds pretty stressful to me.

message 5: by Charlotte (new)