The Modern Library 100 Best Novels Challenge discussion

Introduction to the Group > Hi! My name is...

Comments Showing 1-50 of 228 (228 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1 3 4 5

message 1: by Stephanie (last edited Jul 25, 2009 12:20PM) (new)

Stephanie Stephanie, the moderator. I have been working at this list for several years and have read many of the books, but it is time to conquer it once and for all. I am going to go back and read the titles I have not read for quite awhile and look forward to some new reads as well. I am even going to finish Brave New World and Lord of the Flies - two books I loathe and have tried to read on several occasions.

I moderate one other group on goodreads called Busy as a Bee books and co-moderate a group with Lisa for Bookmarks magazine subscribers. I am also part of a YA reading group for adults so I can read what my high school students are reading. (A LOT of these titles are required high school reading and are shelved in both sections of my local library!) I love being a part of so many different groups because while I feel I am very well-read, "meeting" different people from around the world and reading books together has taken my passion to a whole new level. I have read Sci-Fi for crying out loud!

Anyway, great to have you all. Like I said, we're going to keep this casual even though most of these books could allow for lengthy papers (I even wrote several papers on some of these titles as an English major - HOUSE OF MIRTH haunted me for an entire course!) I am not going to stifle intelligent conversation, but I don't want people to feel that they can't join in because they feel intimidated. So jump in, have fun, expand your horizons. (That is the teacher coming out in me.)

message 2: by Wanda (last edited Jul 22, 2009 05:34PM) (new)

Wanda (wanda514) Hi! My name is Wanda and I am excited to be part of this group and to be able to read and discuss The Bridge of San Luis Rey.