Best Fantasy Books Subgenre Reading Challenge discussion

General > Welcome!

Comments Showing 1-35 of 35 (35 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Christie (new)

Christie Stratos (christiestratos) | 94 comments Mod
Hi everyone! Welcome to BFBSRC - quite a mouthful. I'm a writer and avid reader who has always wanted to appreciate fantasy, but I haven't yet found my favorite subgenre(s). I'm really excited to explore the various fantasy subgenres and find out what I like best. I'm also hoping to improve my pleasure reading speed. It can take me months to read a 200 page book because I'm so slow. Ridiculous! So hopefully I'll (1) discover books, authors, and subgenres I didn't know I'd like and (2) increase my pleasure reading speed.

How about you? Do you already love fantasy or are you looking to get to know it better?

message 2: by A.L. (new)

A.L. Sayge | 7 comments I haven't read too much fantasy, so I was really interested to hear that there are so many subgenres and I'm looking forward to being introduced to some!

message 3: by Christie (new)

A.L. wrote: "I haven't read too much fantasy, so I was really interested to hear that there are so many subgenres and I'm looking forward to being introduced to some!"

Awesome, A.L.! I couldn't believe there were so many either. We'll both learn a lot. :)

message 4: by Josh (new)

Josh de Lioncourt (lioncourt) | 2 comments Hi Christie and all,

I'm an avid reader (and writer), and fantasy is my favorite genre. When fantasy is good, it is incredible. Unfortunately, much of it is not. As a result, I'm always on the hunt for great new fantasy to try, so it'll be fun to, hopefully, find a few new gems in this challenge. It's unlikely that I will read all 65, but I look forward to participating to the degree that I'm able.

-Josh

message 5: by Tom (last edited Dec 08, 2015 03:25AM) (new)

Tom Fallwell Hello all,