Great Middle Grade Reads discussion

GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > boy or girl main characters?

Comments Showing 1-30 of 30 (30 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Sam (new)

Sam Friedman (sam_ramirez) | 24 comments As an author, I have a MG series which has a female main character. I have long wondered:
-if boys will read a book with a female MC
-if books with male characters sell better.

I remember as a teen I didn't do a lot of reading outside of class, mostly because I was uninterested in romance novels which tend to characterize the YA genre. As a kid I liked Goosebumps, Hard Boys and Encyclopedia Brown. Goosebumps was evenly divided between boys/girls (I did not care about the MC's gender because the stories were great) and the other two had boys has MC's. I liked the mystery element. So I wonder if it was just me or if I was standard as a kid.

I appreciate honest thoughts. I am just looking for observations or opinions from others. Maybe you have sons or daughters or grandkids who read.

message 2: by Jemima (new)

Jemima Pett | 1350 comments Mod
Most of the time I didn't worry whether the MC was male or female as long as there was a pony in there as well! I think all the adventure books we had were boys and girls, including the tomboy who I always thought was the best person there :)

message 3: by Cheryl is busier irl atm. (last edited Dec 01, 2015 07:03AM) (new)

Cheryl is busier irl atm. (cherylllr) I hope my understanding is out-of-date, but I was informed (in teacher-training) that boys tend to avoid books 'about' girls, but girls will look for a story-line or genre they like, and not care if the MC is girl or boy.

And by 'about' girls I mean that even if the main character is a boy, if it's about, say, a family, and the boy has sisters, a boy reader might be reluctant to pick it up.