Catching up on Classics (and lots more!) discussion

2016 Old & New Classic Challenge > Cosmic Arcata 2016 Old and New Classic Challenge

Comments Showing 1-14 of 14 (14 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Cosmic (last edited Oct 13, 2016 12:42AM) (new)

Cosmic Arcata | 132 comments My UNIVERSE https://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/...
This is my first year to try this challenge. I usually read classics, but I don't pick them in advance.

I decided to make (1921)- 1922 -(1923)my theme.

For "old" I picked books that are referenced in some way to the books in the new.
Blooms father or Bloom was born on Lombard Street.
Self-Reliance for some reason i think will dovetail in with Waste Land.
And the Odyssey has reference again with Ulysses by James Joyce.
These are all books I own.

I put a couple extra books on this list at the bottom. Bambi is one of my favorite political allegories.

1899 and earlier
1.Self-Reliance and Other Essays (p117)
2.Lombard Street: A Description of the Money Market(p188) August
3.The Odyssey (p500) January 14,2016
1900-1999
4. The Waste Land (p320)
5. Tractatus Logico-Philosophicus (p 144) decided not to read. Read
The 42nd Parallel
September 30
6. Ulysses (p.810) June 10
My Wild Card Six
7. We(p225) March 14
8.Seven Pillars of Wisdom: A Triumph(p784)
9. Mrs. Dalloway (p194)
10. Cane (p144)
11. The Beautiful and Damned(p422) January 14, 2016
12.Winesburg, Ohio (104p)

Alternates
A-1Public Opinion (p288)
A-1 Aaron's Rod (p352)
Decadence: And Other Essays on the Culture of Ideas
Children's book
Bambi

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland July 2016

The Wind in the Willows

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/4...

The Voyages of Doctor Doolittle

The Forsyth Saga 1922 April

Cytherea 1922

Babbitt 1922 April

Babel1921

Figures of Earth 1921

The Rescue

Kafka Four Stories: A Country Doctor, the Hungry Artist, the Little Woman, Report to the Academy

message 2: by Jan (new)