Indie Authors Monthly Magazine For Authors and Readers discussion

Novel Suggestions Request

Comments Showing 1-17 of 17 (17 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Sy' (new)

Sy' Urie | 6 comments Hey Everyone,

So I am a budding writer, but I need some supplementary reading materials to assist with my inspiration. I was wondering if someone could suggest some novels that are in between the YA genre and Adult genre. More on the paranormal/fantasy side, with bits and pieces of romance mixed in. Novels with the female character being the heroine and doesn’t have the normal race being Caucasian. 

The novel that I am currently working on starts in the YA genre, but I would like to continue my series into the lead characters adulthood.

Please and Thank you and Happy Holidays!

message 2: by Alyson (new)

Alyson Stone (alysonserenastone) | 194 comments A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah. J Maas. I'm not sure about the race thing though.

message 3: by Sy' (new)

Sy' Urie | 6 comments Thanks, I'll take a look. Race isn't to much of a factor, but my Main character is of African American and Japanese decent. So I wanted to incorporate the culture.

message 4: by Lisa (new)

Lisa Cresswell (lisa_cresswell) | 6 comments Check out The Mark of Noba by GL Tomas. A great multicultural fantasy series~

message 5: by Sy' (new)

Sy' Urie | 6 comments Thanks Lisa, I'll look into that now.

message 6: by Lisa (new)

Lisa Cresswell (lisa_cresswell) | 6 comments Its by a pair of twin sisters I met on Twitter. They're super supportive of multicultural authors. Awesome people. :)

message 7: by Alyson (new)

Alyson Stone (alysonserenastone) | 194 comments Sy' wrote: "Thanks, I'll take a look. Race isn't to much of a factor, but my Main character is of African American and Japanese decent. So I wanted to incorporate the culture."

I'm more familiar with young adult. Cinder is Chinese, but it's a young adult book.