Horror Aficionados discussion

Short Stories > Chilling almost believable story recommendations?

Comments Showing 1-15 of 15 (15 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Phil (new)

Phil Bryden I'm new to horror fiction, and fiction for that matter. I enjoy a good horror film and thought maybe I could find a short story or novel to give me some chills.

Something almost believable, perhaps an isolated haunting might be a good start to get me into the genre.

Any recommendations?

message 2: by Cuniculus (new)

Cuniculus Potterton | 2999 comments The Hitchhiker by Anthony Horowitz. The story can be found in More Horowitz Horror

message 3: by Phil (new)

Phil Bryden Thanks, i'll try some Horowitz and see if I enjoy it.

message 4: by Rhian (new)

Rhian (rhianlovesbooksx1f4d6) | 34 comments Stephen King may be too obvious but I found cujo and geralds game so chilling because it really could happen oh and his short story the gingerbread girl gave me sleepless nights and nightmares

message 5: by Phil (new)

Phil Bryden thanks Rhian, I was wary of trying Stephen King's books just because he's too popular lol

message 6: by Rhian (new)

Rhian (rhianlovesbooksx1f4d6) | 34 comments Phil start with the early books they are fantastic, there's a reason he's so popular lol

message 7: by Phil (new)

Phil Bryden I'll start with the Gingerbread Girl and a couple more from Just After Sunset short stories.

message 8: by Rhian (new)

Rhian (rhianlovesbooksx1f4d6) | 34 comments maybe you won't find it as scary as I did but from a woman's pov its scary stuff

message 9: by Cuniculus (new)

Cuniculus Potterton | 2999 comments The Turn of the Screwby Henry James

A classic. The Victorian style is sometime hard to enjoy, but still quite impressive.

message 10: by Cuniculus (new)

Cuniculus Potterton | 2999 comments The Haunting of Hill Houseby Shirley Jackson.