Book Cover Reviews discussion

Cover Reviews > Need Opinions: Graphic vs. Painterly Style

Comments Showing 1-8 of 8 (8 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Mary (new)

Mary Ogle | 9 comments Hi everyone, I need some opinions. I'm a professional artist and I design book covers. Most of my covers to date have been in a more painterly style (see example below on the left). Recently I've been experimenting with a more graphic style. (see example below on right). So I'm wondering - do you think one style is preferred over the other? Is it worth it to pursue the more graphic one? What do you guys think? - Mary

message 2: by Diana (new)

Diana Rising (dianaruthr) I like them both. I don't recall buying any books with a cover similar to the one on the left, but it is intriguing and wouldn't put me off a book.

message 3: by Mary (new)

Mary Ogle | 9 comments Thanks for the comment Diana I really appreciate it. It's sometimes hard when you're a freelancer and working alone most of the time to get a sense of what's working and what's not.

message 4: by Harald, The Swimmer (new)

Harald | 387 comments Mod
Welcome Mary!

You do have a unique style. I don't have a preference for one vs. the other, although in this case the profile head has more "instant popability."

A couple of things to consider as you move forward:

1. Always be sure to review cover drafts in thumbnail size (~100-x150 pixels tall). This is the size most people will see, and the problems will stand out more.

2. Pay special attention to the "brightness contrast" of your text elements as they lay on the background image. I know you want to showcase your artwork, but the author also needs to have things like the main title stand out easily, especially at small sizes. In both of your examples above, the texts get kinda lost.

Keep at it! And thanks for letting us take a look.

message 5: by Mary (new)

Mary Ogle | 9 comments Hi Harald!