Romance Readers Rendezvous discussion

Coffee Corner > What makes a GREAT romance story?

Comments Showing 1-30 of 30 (30 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Chantel (new)

Chantel Seabrook (chantelseabrook) | 56 comments Mod
What makes a GREAT romance story? Everyone has different tastes and preferences, but I would love to hear what you think makes a good romance story.

message 2: by Stella (new)

Stella Alden (stellamarie) | 117 comments Mod
For a great romance, I just MUST have a compelling, exciting story along with the love interest.I just LOVE new plots with a twist. I want a strong hero. He doesn't have to be physically strong, but powerful in some way. For me, the heroine also must be strong in some way; not a mousy thing waiting to be rescued.

message 3: by Tabitha (new)

Tabitha Barret (tabithabarret) Chemistry is important. I am an author, but I also review other romance books. There is nothing worse than flat chemistry. You can have a great story, great location, but if the characters don't have that spark it's tough to read.
I had to walk away from a review because every time the characters interacted it was shown from the wrong perspective and it felt disconnected.

message 4: by Sahara (new)

Sahara Foley (saharafoley) Yes, chemistry is very important, and not just all lovey-dovey. I love characters that have sparks fly, because they don't always see eye-to-eye. And I hate weak females. I'm not that way, and I don't want my heroines to be that way either. They can start weak, but they must grow and become strong.

message 5: by Stella (new)

I agree... and I like a little humor...

message 6: by Karen (new)

Karen Gordon | 18 comments I second (or is it third) the motion about strong females. I cannot relate to wussy women. I look for a unique perspective, one where I learn something new about a culture or time in history. I loved "Outlander" and "The Bronze Horseman" series for these reasons.