Support for Indie Authors discussion

Archived Marketing No New Posts > book PR / marketing firms

Comments Showing 1-6 of 6 (6 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by May (new)

May Sage (maysage) | 15 comments I was wondering about your thoughts and experiences on PR and Marketing firms; they’ve bloomed in the last few years and there is quite a few scams running around. Did you hire one, and if yes, what sort of result did they deliver?

As many self-published authors, I have a day job, I’m writing another novel which will be ready soon, and I also work as a freelance proofreader and editor: on that kind of schedule, I don’t really take the time to promote my own book! Not as much as I should, anyway. It’s doing well actually, but I’d like to take it to the next level; only, I really don’t want to go about it the wrong way.

message 2: by Owen (new)

Owen O'Neill (owen_r_oneill) | 1509 comments We have never used them, so I cannot speak from experience. But I am deeply suspicious of them. Indie authors now represent a huge potential market for services, and inevitably there are people who have flocked to provide them. New indie authors tend to be hungry for the exposure that will lead to sales and being new, they are inexperienced, which makes it difficult for them to evaluate opportunities. Furthermore, the indie publishing landscape is littered with unsupported opinions, misinformation, and what I consider to be myths.

This is one of my perpetual drumbeats here, but I'll trot it out again and ask for forgiveness later: the common ideas about promotion and marketing (outside of "write another book") fall into one of those 3 categories above. It is quite common to hear one of us say: "I'm not doing as much as I should." It is also usually wrong. Each author's situation is different, but rarely is there a case where a new author can move the needle.