GoodReads' First Readers discussion

First Reads Discussions > Giveaway winner selection

Comments Showing 1-9 of 9 (9 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by John (new)

John (johnekerry) | 3 comments I recently posted the below under the topic:
Are Goodreads giveaway winners randomly selected?

But I wanted to raise my observations higher and give them it's own topic to see if there were any authors out there with a similar experience. And to maybe give entrants of giveaways some insight into an author's experience of the winners that are selected.

---------

I've noticed a change in the way giveaway winners are selected over the last couple of years.
I'm a goodreads author and I regularly hold giveaways for my book. These are my observations. I'll leave you all to draw your own conclusions.

The facts are these:
I often hold two to three month long giveaways for 2 books at a time. I leave the giveaways going, racking up entrants to increase the exposure of my book and so I regularly get 5,000 to 6,000 people entering. I'd say 700 to 1000 of those entrants enter the giveaway within the last 48 hours when my book hits the first page of the "Ending soon" section.
I'm based in the UK so over here the giveaways end at 8:00am GMT.
In the last several giveaways I've created, the winners have all entered within the same minute the giveaway ends.
My most recent giveaway finished this morning 3hrs 14 minutes ago
The time of this writing is 11:14 UK time
Both winners of this giveaway (according to the Recent Updates on their profiles) "entered" the giveaway 3hrs 14 minutes ago.
That's quite a coincidence.
Exactly the same thing happened on the last giveaway I created.
I believe this also happened the giveaway before that although I wouldn't swear to it.

Even with the spike of entrants occurring in the last 24 hours the bulk of the entrants enter before this period.