Yoga Folks discussion

“Yoga Girl” Discussion > "Yoga Girl" Chapters 4 - 5

Comments Showing 1-14 of 14 (14 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Jessica (new)

Jessica (jessicatopper) | 74 comments Mod
Continuing our chat about Yoga Girl…chapters four and five delve into Rachel’s life-changing trip to Aruba, her foray into teaching, and about accepting the body for what it is. Here are just a few questions to get us going:

1) We learn that Rachel was born with scoliosis and an elevated hip. After years of avoiding strong exercise and dynamic poses for fear of injuring her spine further, she realizes these were the exercises she needed the most. Have you ever experienced a limitation that has held you back from yoga, or that you were able to improve through yoga?

2) Up until the point where Brathen is hired to teach yoga at the hotel in Aruba, everything she knows regarding yoga is self-taught. Were you surprised at how little she discusses her actual training and certification in these chapters?

3) Brathan credits her massive Instagram following to channeling her feelings through the social network, and striving to be as genuine as possible. However, in a society that places so much emphasis on image, it’s hard to ignore that Brathen fits the commercial face of yoga. Do you think she defies or perpetuates stereotypes? And how do you feel about Instagram as a source for yoga inspiration? Is it an accurate media representation of the yoga world?

4) Yoga seems to have helped her relationship with her husband Dennis, and has brought them closer. Do any of you practice yoga with a spouse or loved one?

5) What do you think of Rachel’s concept on page 111 of “yoga homework”? What would you assign yourself as yoga homework at this present moment?

message 2: by BettyBolero (new)