2021 Reading Challenge discussion

The Perks of Being a Wallflower
This topic is about The Perks of Being a Wallflower
note: This topic has been closed to new comments.
ARCHIVE 2015 > The Perks of Being a Wallflower: Part 4 and Epilogue (Contains Spoilers)

Comments Showing 1-4 of 4 (4 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Jodi (readinbooks) | 1912 comments This is the discussion thread for Part 4 and the Epilogue of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

message 2: by Mahsa (new) - added it

Mahsa Ghoraian | 72 comments Hey everybody!I'm the discussion leader for this month and I'm superexcited about it(since it's my first time :)) ).Actually I have read thd book once,and in my opinion every one needs a simple book such as this one,once in a while.You can just lose yourself in a teenager's memories and once more,realise how it feels to be a teenager. (Although I-as an Iranian- had a completely different high school period, but the feelings are pretty much the same :) )
Finally,I hope everybody can join our group read and I'm looking forward to reading all the comments.
Happy reading :)

Jennifer | 95 comments To quote Charlie, “The movie [book] itself was very interesting, but I didn’t think it was very good because I didn’t really feel different when it was over."

That may be a bit harsh, I didn't dislike it, there were some very sweet sections, but I feel as though it were trying too hard; as if the author collected all possible teen problems and made a checklist for Charlie to experience in the process of a year. But, I'm old and cranky now and it may be that I can just no longer relate to teen angst. I don't feel it has the long term power of a Catcher in the Rye or a Separate Peace, but certainly hits upon the confusion and trauma of adolescents.

message 4: by Cynthia (last edited Sep 11, 2015 04:34AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars