2022 Reading Challenge discussion

The Perks of Being a Wallflower
This topic is about The Perks of Being a Wallflower
note: This topic has been closed to new comments.
ARCHIVE 2015 > The Perks of Being a Wallflower: Part 3 (Contains Spoilers)

Comments Showing 1-5 of 5 (5 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Jodi (readinbooks) | 1922 comments This is the discussion thread for Part 3 of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

message 2: by Mahsa (new) - added it

Mahsa Ghoraian | 72 comments Hey everybody!I'm the discussion leader for this month and I'm superexcited about it(since it's my first time :)) ).Actually I have read thd book once,and in my opinion every one needs a simple book such as this one,once in a while.You can just lose yourself in a teenager's memories and once more,realise how it feels to be a teenager. (Although I-as an Iranian- had a completely different high school period, but the feelings are pretty much the same :) )
Finally,I hope everybody can join our group read and I'm looking forward to reading all the comments.
Happy reading :)

message 3: by Jennifer (new) - added it

Jennifer | 95 comments Having graduated from high school in 92, the book is making me feel very nostalgic, although I almost feel that all the dropping of the pop culture references is getting annoying now. It's trying too hard to paint a picture of the timeframe and the mindset of the group; it's almost too formulaic and stereotypical of what the 90s alternative group "was".

This portion of the book certainly gives us a greater idea of just how off Charlie's psychiatric state is, but I don't feel that there has been any better of an explanation why. This makes it difficult for me to understand why he behaves he does in certain instances; I can't grasp his frame of reference.

I'm waiting for the stories tie together, the why I am reading this.