Support for Indie Authors discussion

Comments Showing 1-26 of 26 (26 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Shannon (new)

Shannon Reber | 181 comments I'm a first time indie author and have been published for a little under a month. So far, I've made about enough to buy a taco. 8-) What I'm wondering, is what can I do to get my story out there? It's a short story, a prequel to my upcoming trilogy. Anyone have advice? I can't afford anything that isn't free, so I know that's quite a limitation, but I was hoping...anybody...please... 8-)

message 2: by G.G. (last edited Aug 15, 2015 05:54PM) (new)

G.G. (ggatcheson) | 2491 comments First, you should convert your regular member page to an author page here on goodreads. It doesn't look like much but people with whom you interact might see your book and who knows, they might give it a try too.

Aside from that, I wished I could help but I'm worth a big fat huge zero when it comes to marketing...

Oh and congrats on becoming officially and Indie. :)

message 3: by Riley, Viking Extraordinaire (new)

Riley Amos Westbrook (sonshinegreene) | 1510 comments Mod
Hey Shannon, it depends on how much work you're willing to put in yourself. A lot of it is building yourself a presence on social media. As for the rest, it comes with more books! Keep writing, and promoting, and the readers will come! Look at the sticky in the marketing folder below, and see the things I use, at free cost of course, to promote works.

message 4: by Owen (new)

Owen O'Neill (owen_r_oneill) | 1509 comments It will take some time to read thru, but there is a ton of info here: https://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/...

Good luck!

message 5: by Shannon (new)

Shannon Reber | 181 comments G.G. wrote: "First, you should convert your regular member page to an author page here on goodreads. It doesn't look like much but people with whom you interact might see your book and who knows, they might giv..."