Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, #7) Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows discussion

Is Harry Potter comparable to Lord of the Rings?

Comments Showing 1-14 of 14 (14 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Frog (last edited Aug 09, 2015 11:16PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Frog I have run into people who tell me I should be reading Toilken instead of Harry Potter.

Usually these arguments are made by people deliberately trying to belittle the Harry Potter series (because of the sorcery) but have never truly given the series a chance.

I have read both series multiple times and see that they both have strengths.
Rowling has the upper hand when it comes to being down to earth and relatable. Toklien's world is fleshed out in a more vast and less intimate way.

I am studying Toilken and learning about the religious themes and deeper morality behind his work. Yet I always respected Harry Potter for having a uniquely solid moral foundation (as opposed to the majority of modern YA Fantasy). And I don't think it necessarily has less of truths behind it just because the author was not consciously trying to be religious (even Toilken said he did not write these themes into his books purposely). And indeed, I feel I have learned many powerful things from the Potter books when it comes to bravery and making the right choices, etc, etc.

That said, I think the Potter books have some strengths that Toilken's did not (and vice versa).

J.K Rowling's biggest strength is engaging the reader in her work. She has a brilliant (somewhat taken for granted) method of telling her stories.
Animators say things should be believable, not realistic. I have never seen anyone take advantage of this as masterfully as J.K Rowling.

She has characters who are blatantly one dimensional (Dursleys) yet uses them in just the right places so that they never become tiresome. It has just the right effect, truly giving us the best of everything.