Book Cover Reviews discussion

Cover Reviews > Cover Review - Hope

Comments Showing 1-39 of 39 (39 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Richard (new)

Richard Schiver | 23 comments Hi:

Found your group while looking for places to get honest feedback on my cover designs. I'm an indie author and I also design my own covers. I'm not the greatest at it, but I do it, not because I can't afford to hire someone else to, but because I actually enjoy doing it. Here's the second version of a current work in progress. Would greatly appreciate any honest feedback, good, bad, indifferent. Thanks.

message 2: by Harald, The Swimmer (new)

Harald | 398 comments Mod
Hi Richard! Welcome to the group.

You want honest? :) For "not being the greatest," you're not bad!

Some thoughts…

* Overall concept is good (Q: this is YA, yes?), although it looks a bit too "clean" to me. Can you distress everything more? = teddy bear more worn out/torn up, wall more aged, and the "…k off" more faded and/or dark (just play around with it).

* Main title is great. Wonderful contrast with background. And the font even has a "hopeful" feel to me.

* You know how to use dark outer glows, which helps your author name. Although I would probably add some letter-spacing ("tracking") to separate the letters more. They all kinda run together when viewed small (as most will view it).

* I would suggest you change the tagline font. It's really unreadable at small size. Just go with a basic sans-serif font like Arial, Helvetica, etc.

Hope that helps! (+ show us your next version!)

message 3: by Richard (new)

Richard Schiver | 23 comments Thanks for your feedback Harald. I didn't know about dark outer glow, see I've learned something all ready. It still needs some work on Teddy, but what do you think of this version?

message 4: by Harald, The Swimmer (new)