THE Group for Authors! discussion

note: This topic has been closed to new comments.
Writer's Circle > Authors, SPAM-Police, Ratings, and Reviews

Comments Showing 1-50 of 81 (81 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by Kristi (last edited Aug 09, 2015 05:01PM) (new)

Kristi Cramer (kristicramer) | 84 comments To be sure, there have been instances of 1 star "attacks", but honestly, a 1 star without a review (and I've had a few on my books) can simply mean "I disliked this book so much I can't even be bothered to tell you why." The rater just doesn't want to give it any more time or thought. Many users also have a personal use for stars that has nothing to do with what they thought of a book.

Trying to "make" or "require" someone explain themselves is just as much of a pointless time sink as those attacks designed to "hurt" an author.

As an author myself, I just accept the 1 star as a fact of life. If there is something to learn, I learn it. If there isn't, well, nothing is owed to me by simple virtue of my having uploaded a book.

As a reader, I typically ignore the one star with no review. Just as I mostly ignore the 5 star with no review. I'm enough of a free thinker to form my opinion based on more than just the average rating.

As for SPAM, getting the label based on one mistake is disheartening, but it can be overcome by simply stopping the activity that got you the label. As I'm sure you'll be told, Goodreads was designed for readers, not for advertisers (other than paid adverts) and authors have joined for lots of reasons, not the least of which is to interact with fans. Word of mouth is a powerful thing, and if you are known for your kitten pictures or your rapier wit, you will draw people to you. If you are known for bringing every comment back to a mention of your book by any and all tenuous threads, people will quickly perceive you as having a sales-bot mentality, and they will at best ignore you.