The Humour Club discussion

General > Success Stories

Comments Showing 1-30 of 30 (30 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Terry (new)

Terry Ravenscroft (terryrazz) | 6 comments I'm new to Goodreads. I am wondering if any fellow authors of The Humour Club have had any success with using Goodreads as a marketing tool for their books. I'm thinking in particular of Giveaways and advertising.

message 2: by Joe (new)

Joe Cawley (joecawley) | 9 comments I've tried advertising and events but to be honest neither have worked for me. Not tried a giveaway yet, but it's a possibilty.

message 3: by Lisa (new)

Lisa Shiroff | 840 comments I tried advertising and a give-a-way. Combined they resulted in 330 people adding the book to their to-read pile, which had zero impact on my sales.

message 4: by Terry (new)

Terry Ravenscroft (terryrazz) | 6 comments That's what is troubling me, Lisa. It's all very well being added to 'books to read', the problem is will they ever get round to reading them? Time will tell I suppose. To be fair you can hardly expect someone to buy your book immediately after earmarking it.

message 5: by Lisa (new)

Lisa Shiroff | 840 comments Amen! And that's one of the benefits of the brick and mortar stores. You bought your to-be-read books and stacked them bedside.

message 6: by Rebecca (new)

Rebecca Douglass (rdouglass) | 2420 comments Mod
Lisa wrote: "Amen! And that's one of the benefits of the brick and mortar stores. You bought your to-be-read books and stacked them bedside."

Isn't that the truth!

When you enter a Giveaway, the default is to add the book to your to-read folder. But I'm sure many of us enter giveaways for books we won't buy. And I usually don't remember later what I entered (unless I win. Which I finally did, and now have a real book added to the pile, one I feel obligated to read and review).

message 7: by Will (new)