The Help The Help discussion

Book Club Recommendations

Comments Showing 1-31 of 31 (31 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Rachel Hi Guys!
I'm a small town librarian and have recently started a book club here at the library. Most of my members are moms of young children, and so far we have read "The Best Man" by Kristan Higgins (it takes place right near our own town!), "The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society", and "The Help." We're meeting in two weeks to discuss "The Help", but I've already heard that everyone LOVED it and couldn't put it down. I'm hoping to use this excitement to get them excited to read more books. While I don't want a book with the same topics or themes as "The Help", do you have any recommendations for un-put-downable books that I could put up for a vote amongst my members?

Thank you!

Robert Smith The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey

Margaret Gone Girl.

Susie Brocke These have been the top-rated books in our Club:
The Giver
Unbroken
The Help
The Rules of Civility
Fall of Giants
Hotel on Corner of Bitter and Sweet
Sarah's Key

Lauren The Glass Castle

message 6: by Sue (new) - rated it 5 stars

Sue The Kitchen House
Lost Lake
Blackberry Winter
Me Before You
Necessary Lies

Alfredo Castro Push by Sapphire, and it has some questions in the end that you can use in your book club :D

message 9: by Sue (new) - rated it 5 stars

Sue Smythe Garden Spells
Thursdays at Eight

message 10: by Star (new) - rated it 5 stars

Star Forbis Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons! You don't want to finish this Book, cause you feel like you're leaving Friends.

Rachel Thanks, everyone! These are great :)

message 12: by Anastasia (last edited Feb 12, 2014 11:20AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Anastasia The Book Thief
The Night Guest