Space Opera Fans discussion

59 views
Reader Discussions > More books like this?

Comments Showing 1-6 of 6 (6 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by William (new)

William | 2 comments I find myself with a lack of good space opera books to read. I would really appreciate some pointers to other books like the ones below.

I greatly enjoyed these books/series:
Into the Black: Odyssey One
Leviathan Wakes
Darth Plagueis
EVE: The Empyrean Age

I enjoyed:
Steel World
Grimspace
Altered Carbon

I love Battlestar Galatica and Firefly (the tv-shows), anything in the same style would be really nice.


message 2: by Luis (last edited Feb 09, 2014 08:21PM) (new)

Luis Ramon | 4 comments Well My Favorite space opera series right now its

The Frontier Saga - Ryk Brown
The Lost Fleet - Jack Campbell
Wolfhound - Kindal Debenham
To Honor you call us - H. Paul Honsinger

Other space operas

This Corner of the Universe - Britt Ringel
The Synchronity War - Dietmar Wehr
Starship: Mutinity - Mike Resnick
The Tour of the Merrimack - Meluch, R.M.

And other type of Space Opera

Quarter Share - Nathan Lowell
Take the Star Road - Peter Grant
Cassastar - Cavanaugh, Alex J.
Destination Uknown - Jeffrey Burger


message 3: by Stephen (new)

Stephen Goldin (stephengoldin) | 114 comments In addition to the previous fine suggestions, I'd like to immodestly offer my own 10-book Agents of ISIS space opera series, starting with Book 1, Tsar Wars. This is a new version of my old Family d'Alembert series, but completely rewritten and updated for the 21st century (as explained in my blog).


message 4: by William (new)

William | 2 comments Thank you for the suggestions!


message 5: by Jeff (new)

Jeff Crystal | 3 comments Here are some of my all-time favorites. (There's almost a hundred books here, so this should keep you busy for a while!)

John Ringo's Empire of Man series, and also his Troy Rising series

David Weber's Dahak series

Neal Asher's Polity series

David Drake's RCN series

Mike Shepard's Kris Longknife series

Jack Campbell's Lost Fleet and Lost Stars series

David Weber's Honor Harrington series (of course!)

William C Dietz's Legion of the Damned

Elizabeth Moon's Trading in Danger series

John Scalzi's Old Man's War series

Ian Douglas' Star Corps series

Glen Cook's Star Fishers series

is that enough?


message 6: by Anna (new)

Anna Erishkigal (annaerishkigal) Jeff wrote: "Here are some of my all-time favorites..."

Awesome list!!! Did you add them to our official Space Opera Fans Listopia yet? We've been trying to compile a SoF member-generated Listopia that will rank high on Google searches and stuff. Maybe you can add these to the Listopia and rank them?

Here's the link: https://www.goodreads.com/list/show/7...


back to top