Holocaust and genocide discussion

RECOMMENDATION > Unravelled--Fictional Account of Mengele's Twins

Comments Showing 1-10 of 10 (10 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Anna (new)

Anna Scanlon (theannascanlon) Unravelled by Anna Scanlon

I'm not sure how self-promotion is handled, but I thought you may be interested in this book as it is something not often talked about in conjunction with the Holocaust. I'm a PhD student studying the time period, so a lot of research went into my book and I hope you'll check it out and find it interested/informative.

"No one heard us. They decided not to, to turn their heads away.

It was too much to bear. Too much to know. Too hard to swallow.

But now that the world knows, now that the world has heard, it all seems so simple, so easy to defray.

I screamed and no one heard.

Next time, will you be listening?"

Aliz and her twin sister, Hajna, are enjoying their playful, carefree and comfortable life with their parents in Szeged, Hungary just before the Nazis invade. Seemingly overnight, their lives change drastically as they are transported to the ghetto on the outskirts of the city and then to Auschwitz to be used in Mengele's deadly experiments. After several months of brutal torture, Aliz is liberated to find that she is the only survivor in her family. At not even 11 years old, Aliz must make the journey to San Francisco alone, an entire world away from everything she's known, in order to live with her only known relatives whom she has never met-- a depressed aunt and teenage cousin who is more than ready to escape her mother's melancholy. Told through the eyes of both Aliz and her cousin Isabelle, Unravelled tells a story of survival, hope, family and the lives war and genocide haunt long after liberation.

message 2: by Anna (new)

Anna Scanlon (theannascanlon) This book is free/Pay What You Can for 48 hours on Smashwords! https://www.smashwords.com/books/view...