The Book Vipers discussion

The Reason I Jump: The Inner Voice of a Thirteen-Year-Old Boy with Autism
This topic is about The Reason I Jump
Group Read Archive > Group Non - Fiction Read - April 2014 - The Reason I Jump - SPOILERS ALLOWED

Comments Showing 1-15 of 15 (15 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Paul (last edited Mar 07, 2014 05:33AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Paul (halfmanhalfbook) | 5459 comments Mod
The discussion thread is now open. Spoilers are allowed on this thread. Don't read on if you haven't finished the book. Can you also unclick the 'Add to my update feed' people don't see your comments in their home screen.

Sandra (sanlema) I read it at the beginning of this year. I felt moved by David Mitchell's introduction and I liked the first 40 pages. Beyond this point I started finding the author's voice unreal. I'm not an expert in the topic. This is just what I felt as a reader.

Kristen I liked the book but after a while I didn't appreciate the use of "we" to describe seemingly all or many autistics. Virtually everyone on the spectrum manifests in a unique combination of traits, so I felt that it may be somewhat misleading for uninformed readers. Otherwise, an authentic and thought provoking read.

Donna (drspoon) Kristen wrote: "I liked the book but after a while I didn't appreciate the use of "we" to describe seemingly all or many autistics. Virtually everyone on the spectrum manifests in a unique combination of traits, ..."

My thoughts exactly Kristen. This view doesn't take anything away from this remarkable young author's experience of things. But it's a slippery slope to assume his experiences and feelings are shared by everyone on the spectrum.