Sword & Laser Kids discussion

Introduction and welcome!

Comments Showing 1-34 of 34 (34 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by library_jim, Creator & Organizer (new)

library_jim | 112 comments Mod
This is our first discussion: an introduction thread, where users can say hello, speak about what they hope to get out of this group, and mention what authors and books they love.

New members will be asked to post here and say hello.

I'll start... Hello, I'm Jim. I'm an elementary school librarian who met Tom and Veronica at Dragon Con and asked permission to start a spinoff of their Sword & Laser group that focuses on SF/Fantasy for kids. My favorite authors include Harlan Ellison, Terry Pratchett, Neil Gaiman, and Kurt Vonnegut.

message 2: by Rob, Tech Support (new)

Rob (robzak) | 5 comments Mod
I'm Rob. I work as a Software Engineer. I'm just here to help Jim out with the logistics of good reads/moderation.

My favorite authors are Jim Butcher, Stephen King, and Brandon Sanderson among many many others.

message 3: by Beth, Moderator (new)

Beth | 73 comments Mod
I'm Beth. I volunteer to help run an elementary book club at our local school, although my kids have moved on to junior high and high school by now. The older one still makes the cookies for the club, though.

My family also has a monthly Family Book Club night where we go out to dinner together and talk about a book we've all read. Most months it's just us, but at Christmas we try to get all the cousins and grandparents to read along as well.

One thing I hope to get is more ideas for books that everyone will enjoy!

My favorite authors include Patricia Briggs, Elizabeth Moon, Sarah Rees Brennan, Lois McMaster Bujold and many more.

message 4: by Rob, Tech Support (new)

Rob (robzak) | 5 comments Mod