Goodreads Librarians Group discussion

The First New Testament: Marcion's Scriptural Canon
This topic is about The First New Testament
Policies & Practices > Where to Place Formal Reviews

Comments Showing 1-5 of 5 (5 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Westar (new) - added it

Westar | 3 comments I am a new librarian who just started adding general descriptions, URLs, etc., to books published by Polebridge Press. However, I'm not sure where it is appropriate to place endorsements and/or reviews from external sources, such as Midwest Book Review.

As you can see on the book I linked here, I initially placed an endorsement under the description. But then I read the following in the Librarian's Manual: "It should be a generic summary and should NOT include reviews or personal feelings (i.e. "This is a book about sisters. It was good. You should read it")."

I am not posting my own reviews, of course, because I represent the publisher. Rather, I would like to know what to do with reviews received by others. I don't see a clear place for endorsements and external reviews (and perhaps those should go in two different places). Any advice would be much appreciated.

Best,
Cassandra

message 2: by rivka, Librarian Moderator (new)

rivka | 44590 comments Mod
There is no appropriate place on a book's page for endorsements and outside reviews.

The author (if they have an account) may put them in a blog post, quote them in their bio, etc. But as the publisher, those options are not available to you.

message 3: by Westar (new) - added it

Westar | 3 comments "The author (if they have an account) may put them in a blog post, quote them in their bio, etc. But as the publ..."

Thanks, Rivka. I suspected this might be the case. In which case I'll remove endorsements from the general description. Most of our authors would prefer we manage this sort of thing, which I suppose is best communicated on the Goodreads Feedback thread.