Loosed in Translation discussion

Which Translation is Best? > Poetic & Prose Edda

Comments Showing 1-7 of 7 (7 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Kendra (new)

Kendra (okaynevermind) | 6 comments Does anyone have any knowledge of the various translations and editions of these? What is more literal, or more in tone, etc. I have some knowledge of Icelandic and Old Norse so anything slightly bilingual is also welcomed.

message 2: by William (new)

William | 1 comments There are two widely-available versions of the Poetic Edda. The earlier is by Lee Hollander, who was a professor of Germanic Studies at UT. He was a minor poet in his own right and was basically able to preserve the original form of the Edda, at the cost of some awkward or incongruous language. The translation is almost a century old at this point, and some of the word choices are archaic or pretentious, but I would say the general run of opinion is the that the Hollander translation is the best. Its primary flaw is occasional obscurity, and like most verse translations, the voice of the translator sometimes overwhelms the voice of the original author.

There's also more recent translation by Carolyne Larrington. I haven't yet read it in full, I put a few hours into reading it and it basically struck me as unremarkable. It is much clearer than Hollander's, but not of much value as a work of poetry. I have heard there are some inaccuracies and missteps, but I don't have the expertise to comment on that.

There are a ton of versions of the Prose Edda. In my opinion the best is Faulkes' "Edda". Byock's is fine too but large parts of the work are excised, which is bizarre given how specialized the interest in the Eddas has become. You're not necessarily missing much, the parts that were cut out are pretty dull, but I thought I would mention it.

I'm not aware of any bilingual versions, but I'm sure academic publishers offer something. Good luck.