All About Books discussion

Little Women
This topic is about Little Women
The 100 Best Novels > Week 20 - Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

Comments Showing 1-50 of 58 (58 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by Jenny (new)

Jenny (jeoblivion) | 4869 comments Week 20 brings us Little Women(1868-9) by Louisa May Alcott

read the full article here

Gill | 5720 comments Oh, yes, I love this book.

message 3: by Marian (new)

Marian (Marian-xox) | 74 comments Hi there, I've been following some of the threads in this group, I'm new to goodreads and would live to join the session on little women. You say week 20, is that this week?

message 4: by Marian (new)

Marian (Marian-xox) | 74 comments *love

message 5: by Pink (new)

Pink I think I'm in the minority with my opinion for this one....didn't love.

Leslie | 15985 comments Pink wrote: "I think I'm in the minority with my opinion for this one....didn't love."

I suspect that you need to read this when young to really love it - otherwise Alcott's language can be a bit too preachy & sweet.

@Marian - This isn't a readalong, sorry if you hoped it was. We are following a series of articles in the British newspaper The Guardian in which Robert McCrumb picks the 100 Best Novels written in English.

Shirley | 4177 comments I loved it, but I haven't tried to read it as an adult - and if what Leslie says is true, I don't want to spoil my memory of it by re-reading now.

message 8: by Marian (new)

Marian (Marian-xox) | 74 comments @Leslie thank you, I figured as much after I clicked on the article and read it. No worries will read it in my own time. Do you know of any current readalongs that I could join though? Thanks

Beth | 508 comments I also loved this book soooooo much as a girl and read it numerous times. I don't feel the need to re-read it now but I remember the book perfectly and am happy to discuss it.

message 10: by Pink (new)