Goodreads Authors/Readers discussion

II. Publishing & Marketing Tips > How did you reach your audience?

Comments Showing 1-27 of 27 (27 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by [deleted user] (new)

Dear fellow authors, I am a new author in the market and one of the things I just realized is that: for some authors like me, it can be difficult to connect with the right audience.

I know that not everybody will like all the books that are out there, in fact I believe each book has an audience, be it big or small.

Now, the big question is: how did you connect with your audience? How did you bring your work to the readers you know would appreciate it?

If you can share your experiences in this topic here, it would be not only great for me to learn from it, but for other new authors who wonder about the same thing!

Thanks a lot! :)

message 2: by Arabella (new)

Arabella Thorne (arabella_thornejunocom) | 354 comments I haven't really connected with mine. I think doing FB likes is very helpful. I have a fantasy/ paranormal historical romance....not sure where to go with it...

message 3: by Sue (new)

Sue Desautels | 89 comments Who is your target audience? I am also on Facebook, Snippets of a Christian Nana. As the name states, my target audience are Christians. I am writing to local book stores, and a local Christian radio station. I sent them a complimentary book along with a one page intro. If you were doing science fiction I would contact Comic Con and try to set up a table. I have a friends son who writes science fiction and he does well enough that he quit is job and pursues this full time now. Having a good blog helps too. I ordered 200 books, and I have 32 left, and my book came out in October. I would say that my book sales have been steady, nothing earth shattering, but I make a bank deposit every week......

message 4: by Laurel (new)