Indie Authors Monthly Magazine For Authors and Readers discussion

The Great Free Book Debate

Comments Showing 1-15 of 15 (15 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by A.L. (new)

A.L. Butcher (alb2012) | 266 comments This might be of interest to some - I am running a couple of articles about the merits (or not) of free books. I have interviewed some authors and readers whose views vary and it is a really interesting article. The first, linked here is from the readers' perspective.
http://mythicscribes.com/marketing/th...

message 2: by L.G. (new)

L.G. Estrella | 23 comments Thank you for posting this. I've been considering this topic for quite some time now, and it's great to have the perspective of a few other people. I will admit upfront that I have a vested interest: I'm a self-published author.

I've found from my own experience that giving away the first part of a series does, in general, help people make a decision about picking up the rest of the series. I've had readers comment that they wouldn't have picked up the later parts of a series if the first part hadn't been given away free. If a series has 3+ parts, then giving away the first part seems like a reasonable risk to take to get people to pick up the rest.

I'm looking forward to the next part.

message 3: by Amanda (new)

Amanda Brenner (amandabrenner) I hope the "first free" thingy works for me. I can't bring myself to make it a complete freebie, but the first novel in my detective series will be in the Countdown program the week before Christmas, so for the first time it will be at least discounted for most of that time.

message 4: by L.L. (new)

L.L. Watkin (LLWatkin) | 41 comments There is that - if everything is free you can certainly give up those $ sign dreams. I agree though that if you write series, and if you are 3+ books through them (both big ifs) giving away the first can work as a loss leader.

message 5: by G.G. (new)