Great Middle Grade Reads discussion

AUTHORS' CORNER > Marketing makes me kick and scream

Comments Showing 1-11 of 11 (11 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by V.K. (new)

V.K. Finnish | 77 comments I'm a writer of middle-grade books. I'm passionate about writing. But the words "sales" and "marketing" give me queazy feelings in my stomach and freeze the smile on my face so that it falls away and shatters. Does anyone else ever feel this way?

I know there are topics about marketing on the regular GR authors forum, but, let's be honest, marketing a middle-grade book is NOT the same as marketing an adult romance book. I hate to be so dismal, but do any of my fellow middle-grade authors have words of hope? Any good marketing/sales experiences to share? (Or even words of complaint?) Anyone else who finds this to be the absolute worst part of writing books?

message 2: by Daniel (new)

Daniel Benshana | 3 comments I have always said that the best marketing in the world is a reader who likes your work. I do not know of a reader who doesn't recommend books. However even if you are brilliant this word of mouth takes a long time and all marketing is about selling now.

I am here trying to see if I can help the word of mouth and I started FootSteps press to bring authors into the fold so everything we do helps each other.

though I have to admit to only wanting to help brilliant writers :)

message 3: by Helen (new)

Helen Laycock (helenlaycock) | 128 comments Let me draw up my sick bed next to yours, V.K. - I feel exactly the same. I am a writer, not an advertising executive. Give me a pen and paper and I'll produce something worthwhile. Give me the World Wide Web and I turn into a monkey at the keyboard.

I listen so hard to what others are doing to get their books seen. I have blindly battled my way into the technological arena and scatter posts hither and thither like goat droppings, hoping that someone will see them.