Brave New World
This topic is about Brave New World
New School Classics- 1900-1999 > Brave New World: Spoilers

Comments Showing 1-50 of 125 (125 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1 3

message 1: by Katy, New School Classics (new) - rated it 4 stars

Katy (kathy_h) | 9439 comments Mod
Don't read if you don't want to know.

Rick (williarw) Maybe because I'm a psychologist, but I was interested in the Neo-Pavlovian conditioning rooms and the elaborate process of ingraining beliefs of each subtype (e.g., Alphas, Betas, etc.). Huxley clearly believed that such efforts were possible and, just as clearly, felt they were doomed to fail. One of my favorite quotes re: Epsilons: "His conditioning has laid down rails along which he's got to run. He can't help himself; he's foredoomed."

An example of a prediction which has seemed to come to fruition: conditioning children to love only sports that require equipment so that everyone will consume and encouraging people to gratify their needs..."But industrial civilization is only possible when there's no self-denial. Self-indulgence up the the very limits imposed by hygiene and economics. Otherwise, the wheels stop turning."

Huxley seems to be predicting a dystopian future, but at the same time, it is not clear that he wants things to stay as they are. It seems that he is arguing that extremes in any direction are problematic.

I had not read this book before and I am certainly glad that I did now.

Pink | 6556 comments Rick wrote: "Maybe because I'm a psychologist, but I was interested in the Neo-Pavlovian conditioning rooms and the elaborate process of ingraining beliefs of each subtype (e.g., Alphas, Betas, etc.). Huxley cl..."

Very nicely put, not sure that I have much to add to that right now. I'm glad you liked the book, I only discovered it earlier this year and it turned out to be one of my favourites. I think the utopian/ dystopian concept within it are very interesting.