mythos discussion

What is your favorite culture?

Comments Showing 1-16 of 16 (16 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Al (new)

Al | 17 comments Mod
Whose myths do you absolutely love to learn more about? Which culture has your favorite folktales?

For me, it is the ancient Egyptians. I can never learn enough about their mythology.

message 2: by Christine (new)

Christine (d286380) | 4 comments I have to say that the Greek myths are probably my favourite, I'm studying ancient history so I guess it's also what i mostly read...I'd like to get into some of tge Egyptian mythology though, can you recommend any good books Alex?

message 3: by Al (last edited Jul 01, 2009 07:44PM) (new)

Al | 17 comments Mod
Sure. A good book to start with is Egypt: Gods, Myths, and Religion. It'll give you a good overview of some of the more important, and therefore more well-known, myths as well as get you familiar with some important names and symbols you will need to know to get more in-depth into other myths of ancient Egypt. When I started studying Egyptian mythology I was seven, so a lot of the my basics came from children's books or books that at least could be understood by someone that age. I think however if you read this one you should be fine with some of the other books I might recommend. Let me know what you think of this one, and I'll get you some more titles (I have to try and remember them all!)

message 4: by Andrew (new)

Andrew (dariusgreyhound) | 13 comments Mod
The Norse ROCK THE HOUSE
greek is cool to

all hail the Allfather!!!!

message 5: by Al (new)

Al | 17 comments Mod
Andrew wrote: "The Norse ROCK THE HOUSE
greek is cool to

all hail the Allfather!!!!"

You can't read the Norse and not love them!

message 6: by Al (last edited Aug 03, 2009 03:07PM) (new)

Al | 17 comments Mod