The Mystery, Crime, and Thriller Group discussion

Group Read Discussions > Nov/ Dec 2013 Group Read - Into the Darkest Corner by Elizabeth Haynes

Comments Showing 1-19 of 19 (19 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Bill, Co-Moderator (new)

Bill | 5389 comments Mod
Into the Darkest Corner by Elizabeth Haynes was nominated by Matt and is one of the two books chosen for the Nov/ Dec Group Read. Enjoy the discussions.

message 2: by Matt (new)

Matt | 16 comments I’m so happy that Into the Darkest Corner was selected as one of the books to read this period. This is my first time moderating a discussion here on GoodReads, so bear with me.

I read this earlier in the year and found it very hard to put down once it got going. Let me start by saying that if you’re like me, and don’t pay attention to the chapter titles, this book alternates its chapters between the present and the past. I found this to be a little confusing at the beginning as the first four chapters are four completely different periods in time. Starting with the third chapter, it then alternates between the present and the past pretty consistently. I will also give a warning (not a spoiler) for those who care that there are some sexual activities in this book that get somewhat graphic at times.

Anyway, I hope everyone enjoys this book as much as I did as there have been very few books that have kept me on the edge of my seat as this one did!

message 3: by Lynsey (new)

Lynsey | 20 comments I read this book in a very short timeframe as I was literally unable to put it down. The way suspense is created is amazing and Haynes carries you along like a freight train!! I felt that the OCD sections of the book, where cathy passes her house to check her curtains and ensures cutlery is in the right space Etc were so well evoked and so powerful. The sense of utter turmoil she is feeling is very clear to the point of quite uncomfortable at times.