Public Librarians discussion

Need help with reader's advisory

Comments Showing 1-5 of 5 (5 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Klara (last edited Jun 01, 2009 11:02AM) (new)

Klara | 2 comments Hi there,

I'm a librarian requesting assistance from any readers of Clique or Chasing Vermeer!

I was recently assigned to help a girl find some books she might like. All I know about her is that she:

- is in 6th grade
- likes Clique and Chasing Vermeer
- enjoys stories about present-day girls as main characters

The deadline to hand in my recommendations is 2 weeks from now. I've borrowed both in order to get a feel for what they're like, but I'm not familiar with non-YA romances and mysteries. Could anybody help point me in the right direction?

Some ideas I've got so far:
- "From the Mixed-Up Files ..."
- The Westing Game
- Lauren Myracle's books

Thanks in advance,
klara.

* Interesting mix of favorites, no? :)

message 2: by Nicole (new)

Nicole what about Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants? contemporary, deals with friendships between 4 girls, elements of drama, romance and comedy.

message 3: by Klara (last edited Jun 01, 2009 10:59AM) (new)

Klara | 2 comments Thank, Nicole! I just finished reading the first Clique book last night and I definitely think Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants is a good fit. The girls from Clique are like the Mean Girls versions of the Sisterhood girls :)

message 4: by Agathafrye (new)