Challenge: 50 Books discussion

Finish Line 2009! > Reny's 50 Books for 2009 - Finished!

Comments Showing 1-38 of 38 (38 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Renata (new)

Renata This is my first year in this group, but I've been doing this since 2004. Last year (2008) was the first time I reached the mark with 63 books.

So far this year (in order read):
1.) The Well of Eternity- Richard A. Knaak
2.) The Demon Soul- Richard A. Knaak
3.) The Sundering- Richard A. Knaak
4.) The Brief Wonderous Life of Oscar Wao - Junot Diaz
5.) The Other Boleyn Girl - Philippa Gregory
6.) Three Cups of Tea- Greg Mortensen
7.) The Angel of Grozny - Asne Seieterstad
8.) Cockroach - Rawi Hage
9.) Beautiful Boy- David Sheff
10.) Tweak - Nic Sheff
11.) Hurry Down Sunshine - Michael Greenberg
12.) Multiple Blessings - Kate Gosselin
13.) Songs of the Humpback Whale- Jodi Picoult
14.) Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight - Alexandra Fuller
15.) Diary of a Young Girl - Anne Frank
16.) The Lost City of Z - David Grann
17.) A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius - David Eggers
18.) Harvesting the Heart - Jodi Picoult
19.) The Knife of Never Letting Go - Patrick Ness
20.) The Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid - Bill Bryson

And another book I read but not counting it in my list because it's mostly pictures is Postsecret: A Lifetime of Secrets by Frank Warren.

My next book is Geisha by Mineko Iwasaki. I finished Thunderbolt Kid yesterday but have to wait until tomorrow to read Geisha since my library is closed and holding it hostage. :(

message 2: by Renata (last edited May 28, 2009 03:18PM) (new)

Renata 21.) Geisha, a Life - Mineko Iwasaki (finished 27/5/2009)

This book reminds me a lot of Memoirs of a Geisha, but more factual and less entertaining. Good for anyone who wants to learn more about Japanese culture. A good book, but one I won't be re-reading.

message 3: by Renata (new)