Victorians! discussion

North and South
This topic is about North and South
Archived Group Reads 2013 > North and South - Vol. I - chs. I-VIII

Comments Showing 1-27 of 27 (27 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Denise (dulcinea3) | 400 comments Please discuss the beginning of the novel, Volume I, chapters I "Haste to the Wedding" through VIII "Home Sickness" here.

message 2: by Valerie (new) - added it

Valerie This is my first time reading with this group. I started the book today.

Denise (dulcinea3) | 400 comments Great, Valerie! I hope you enjoy the book and the discussion!

Samm (ashmanrose) I read the book a couple years ago, I can't wait to see the discussions on this one. It's one of my favorite books. Margaret Hale is a very interesting character.

message 5: by Valerie (new) - added it

Valerie You are right about that! Margaret Hale is very interesting. I love the writing and the descriptive prose. I feel like I'm there. I'm 12% through the book. So far so good!

Lisa (lisadannatt) | 103 comments I can't believe I've never read this before! Only 10% in, but it's so beautifully and eloquently written. Somehow, it reminds me of Anne Bronte's Agnes Grey and Austen's persuasion; I think it may be the characterization of Margaret Hale.

Denise (dulcinea3) | 400 comments Margaret is definitely the rock upon whom her parents depend. She has a lot of common sense.

Lisa (lisadannatt) | 103 comments Exactly Denise!
Can someone help me. Why is her father leaving the church exactly? His faith hasn't shifted. Is it discontentment with actions of the church or with his lack of passion in his work? Or needing to preach to those who in need and not his settled village?