Divergent (Divergent, #1) Divergent discussion

tips on writing from a guys pov?

Comments Showing 1-18 of 18 (18 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Wayan i'm trying to have a go from writing in a guys POV for my story but i don't think i'm doing to well since most of my characters are normally girls.
does any one have any tips?

Mojoboy31 Do you know what a character sketch is?

Kristen I'm not really an expert, but maybe try reading different stories from a guys POV. Particularly if they were written by a guy. Also maybe read some nonfiction stuff by male authors - articles, blogs, reviews, etc.

Wayan Mojoboy31 wrote: "Do you know what a character sketch is?"

ah yes i was meant to do that
but still i think i'll struggle with writing from a guys pov but i'll give it another shot thanks

Wayan Kristen wrote: "I'm not really an expert, but maybe try reading different stories from a guys POV. Particularly if they were written by a guy. Also maybe read some nonfiction stuff by male authors - articles, blog..."

i did try recently i've read the 5th wave (which was amazing) it had some written in a guys pov but most of it was to do with guns and different sections in the base so it was pretty hard to pick up some tips.
also that seems like a good idea, reading the articles and stuff, thanks for the tips!

Italia8989 Writing from a guy's POV can be tricky. You want them to be sentimental without being girly, but you also want them to be macho without being unidentifiable. The question is whether your guy is not narrating like in "Harry Potter" (this would be considered third person), or if he is like in "Percy Jackson" (this is first person).