THE Group for Authors! discussion

Writer's Circle > Buying Books Through Goodreads

Comments Showing 1-13 of 13 (13 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Jonathan (new)

Jonathan Edgington | 2 comments Hi,

I'm new to Goodreads (but am very impressed with what I've seen so far!). One small question - when people go on to the Goodreads site to buy a book, I assume they click on the book they want, then click on the drop down menu to see where the book is available to buy from (like Amazon)and go onto that site to buy it. Is that how it works or have I missed something?

Regards

Jonathan

message 2: by rivka (new)

rivka | 562 comments That is exactly how it works. Users can customize their booklinks, so some will have the defaults, and some might have their local library and several indie bookstores and Powell Books (for example).

message 3: by Alex (new)

Alex (ucbstirling) | 140 comments Rivka's got it right. We're a great place to find a book to read, and then we'll help you find it at any of your favorite online stores.

message 4: by Jonathan (new)

Jonathan Edgington | 2 comments Rivka & Alex - thanks for your messages - much appreciated.

message 5: by C.D. (new)

C.D. Coffelt (huntressakacd) | 12 comments A question about the links: after clicking on a booksellers, the ISBN13 number pops up on the website (Amazon) and nothing else. No book.

This is the same for all links. What am I doing wrong?

message 6: by Paula (new)

Paula (paulaan) | 332 comments what book are you doing this on?

If amazon does not have that book for sale with the ISBN then it will not find it, it may find it by title search

The links are customizable by each user and only work if the book is for sale at the retail site you selected.

In addition, using the link on a Kindle edition with ASIN to go to BN will not work since BN do not sell Kindle books

message 7: by C.D. (new)