Making Connections discussion

ARCHIVES > Becoming an author

Comments Showing 1-34 of 34 (34 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Jessica (new)

Jessica (_afkbookworm_) Hi, I've seen that more and more people are writing books and becoming authors now.

I'm one of those people that thinks of the weirdest things, but then in my mind I turn them into little movies, and I was wondering if I should try writing.

The reason I'm asking is because I'm not that good at the actual writing because I tend to get stuck as what to write half way through and things like that.

So really I'm asking If anyone has any advice or tips. Thanks. :)

Michael Cargill Cargill (michaelcargill) I only started writing about two years and the main advice I can give is to just give it a go. I'd advise against looking for lists of dos and don'ts, simply because they'll fill your head with meaningless little rules.

Think of it as trying to ride a bike - the rules such as 'keep your balance' and 'keep your legs tucked in' don't really make any sense until you've figured it out for yourself.

The very first story I wrote back then was a mere 4000 words long, yet at the time it felt like an unmanageable epic that I would never be able to master.

The stories I wrote after that gradually became longer and longer until I got the hang of it.

Don't worry if your first story is only a few hundred words in length, as it's not really that important.

If you're stuck for ideas try and think of a subject or a time in history that interests you. I'm a WWII nut so that first story was set during that period.

message 3: by Jessica (new)

Jessica (_afkbookworm_) Thanks Michael, I'm more of a romance person so I'll give it a go. :)

message 4: by T.R. (new)