Rochester Reads discussion

General > Introductions!

Comments Showing 1-12 of 12 (12 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Rachel (new)

Rachel | 23 comments Feel free to tell us a bit about yourself in this discussion thread. If you don't know what to say, you could:

- tell us what you do during the days (work outside the home, work from the home, go to school, etc.)

- tell us when you first fell in love with reading

- tell us about any hobbies you have in addition to reading

Looking forward to "meeting" you all!

message 2: by Becky (new)

Becky (beckyree) I am a remedial reading teacher for kindergartners, first and second graders in a public school. Besides reading I sew, garden, scrapbook and enjoy grandkids.

I had a little difficulty learning to read in 1st grade. My mother took us to the library often. Summers we would each check out two books every two weeks. Everyday after lunch we had to nap or rest - with our books. I read my two books then my sister's two books.Some of the places we lived didn't have TV reception and reading was our entertainment.

message 3: by Rachel (new)

Rachel | 23 comments Thank you for your intro, Becky! I hope you had a good timing gardening and spending time with your grandkids this summer!

message 4: by Rachel (new)

Rachel | 23 comments I am the Adult Program Coordinator at the Rochester Public Library, as well as a director at a school library. In my spare time, I enjoy traveling, playing volleyball and basketball, reading, and knitting (a new love for me!). I've also never been known to turn down a nice cup of coffee or tea. :)

message 5: by Marg (new)

Marg | 1 comments I am a retired school administrator (and former librarian!) now embracing a "bell-free" lifestyle!

I fell in love with reading in 1st grade when I "decoded" the word "something" before it was taught to us - and the mysteries of the letter and word combinations have captivated me ever since.