Goodreads Authors/Readers discussion

Bulletin Board > You have to be kidding.

Comments Showing 1-50 of 126 (126 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1 3

message 1: by C.M.J. (new)

C.M.J. Wallace | 193 comments Today I stumbled on a Goodreads posting advertising editorial services. I’m a medical editor (I edit articles written by physicians for medical journals), so out of morbid curiosity I took a look.

Wow.

In the short posting, there were no fewer than 23 errors. Gaffes included the following: missing commas around correlative conjunctions, sense, capitalization, hyphenation, and inconsistency in a vertical list. I wanted to denounce the person who made the post and point out every mistake she’d made, but I believe that discretion is the better part of valor, especially in a public forum such as Goodreads. I’ve read barrages leveled at others who have promoted themselves as having editorial or proofreading skills when in fact those skills were nonexistent, and the exchanges made me cringe even though I agreed with the people who were attacking the promoters’ deficiencies.

That people are touting themselves as editors when they don’t know the first thing about the craft infuriates me, and in the course of my reviews of indie books, person after person has told me that the manuscript had been edited by a “professional.”

There are two sides to this story. First, some people honestly think they can edit but actually can’t. I know this because until recently I offered an editing test, and one person who didn’t pass it was shocked and wanted me to help her become a better editor. Second, some are out to make a quick buck. I know this because people are people.

So here’s my question (finally!): What should I do when I see such things? Ignore them? Point them out privately to those who are laboring under the delusion that they can edit? Expose the “editor” as a fraud? The latter would be doing a small service to fellow indies, but…