Smashwords Authors discussion

Julie Raust
This topic is about Julie Raust
Marketing > Help for the newbie, please...

Comments Showing 1-45 of 45 (45 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Julie (new)

Julie Raust | 5 comments Hi Everyone,

I am a new author and have recently begun sending my book out to reviewers.

I know this sounds crazy, but I only read on my Blackberry Kobo app and have little experience with Kindle and Nook etc.

Here's my question...
What exactly do reviewers mean when they ask for the Kindle version (epub? or pdf? or somthing else?)?
And what about when they ask for the mobi version, not sure what that means either?

I don't want to look foolish asking them to explain, however, I have no doubt someone in this group may be willing to help the newbie.

Thanks in advance...
Julie :)

message 2: by Ubiquitous (new)

Ubiquitous Bubba (ubiquitousbubba) | 413 comments Hey, Julie. This is a good place to ask questions and get answers.

Many eBook apps and readers read the ePub format. Kindle uses the .mobi format. If you pull up your book page on Smashwords, you'll see a list of available formats for downloading. When someone buys your book on Smashwords, they can download the format they prefer. If someone asks you to email a certain format to then, you can download the desired format to your computer and email it to them.

I hope that helps.

message 3: by Julie (new)

Julie Raust | 5 comments Thanks! I definitely does.

I really appreciate it!

message 4: by Denise (new)

Denise Jewell | 17 comments I haven't yet finished my book but still working on it. I have 2 questions at least so far.

1. When you publish on Smashwords does your book automatically go to B&N, Amazaon as well? How does that work exactly?

2. When you are ready to publish do you already need to have a book cover? Again how does that work?