Language & Grammar discussion

note: This topic has been closed to new comments.
The L&G Kitchen Party > Introductions and Welcomes

Comments Showing 1-50 of 2,571 (2571 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 51 52

message 1: by Ken (new)

Ken | 18313 comments Mod
New? Want to introduce yourself? Old? Stepping into the kitchen for a cold (or hot) drink and a little light (or heavy) side conversation? You've come to the right sink...

message 2: by Prabha (new)

Prabha | 70 comments Hi - I'm a teacher from Malaysia, and very new to Goodreads. My interests are in special educational needs and ed psych. I'm a single mum, with 3 wonderful kids who teach me new lessons in life and learning everyday.

English is not the first language nor is it the medium of instruction in schools in Malaysia. As such, you may find some bizarre and distorted usage of language and grammar which is completely 'acceptable' here. (e.g. - Express check out lane sign in supermarket saying "Only 5 items or less")
There is a lot of first language interference as well.

Since 2003, Maths and Science is being taught in English in schools in Malaysia, which i think is a huge step in the right direction towards raising standards of English in the country as a whole.

Will try to contribute my two sen (hey i'm only Malaysian!) worth to these discussions...

message 3: by Ken (last edited Feb 02, 2008 02:25PM) (new)

Ken | 18313 comments Mod
Yay, Prabha. Ironically enough, some "second language" English speakers sometimes learn the language more precisely (according to the book) than native speakers. Plus they don't have that running interference from figures of speech, slang, etc., which run rampant in England and the States. Looking forward to your 200 sens, thens... (a little Malaysian rhyming for you).