Goodreads Librarians Group discussion

Good books for 12 to 14 year olds..?

Comments Showing 1-7 of 7 (7 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Ms Piot (last edited May 05, 2009 01:18PM) (new)

Ms Piot (litcebrarian) I'm basically a business librarian who detoured into a reference public librarian in the 90s, and then spent 10 years as an electronic media librarian working in a high school setting - and now I am in Africa, currently working with k-12 English speaking school, and looking for help suggesting books for the younger kids...any one interested in joining my students' groups to help me make some suggestions for them? Thanks a lot!

message 2: by Cait (last edited May 05, 2009 01:23PM) (new)

Cait (tigercait) | 5005 comments Kim, this is a group for Goodreads volunteers -- we're called "librarians", but we're not (necessarily) professional librarians. You should keep searching the groups, because I'm sure there are groups around for children's librarians....

message 3: by Ms Piot (new)

Ms Piot (litcebrarian) Marco wrote: "Kim, although Cait is right in saying that this isn't the appropriate group to send this message, there are a few series which are good for 12-14 years olds. I'm a librarian in a school for 11-14. ..."

Thanks, that's helpful. If you know of any other groups I should join, can you pass that my way as well? Really appreciate it!

message 4: by Silvana (new)

Silvana (silvaubrey) | 2 comments I love this one:
The Bartimaeus Trilogy Boxed Set
My fave children/preteen fantasy books after the Harry Potter series.

message 5: by Lisa (last edited May 06, 2009 02:13AM) (new)

Lisa Vegan (lisavegan) | 2413 comments Kim, There's a lot of groups here that would help you more than this one. In addition to the one Marco mentioned another one that comes to mind is Best Teen Books:

http://www.goodreads.com/group/show/2...

and Children's books:

http://www.goodreads.com/group/show/1...