Great Middle Grade Reads discussion

GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > Do you feel Middle Grade isn't seen as hip as Young Adult?

Comments Showing 1-50 of 126 (126 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1 3

message 1: by Brian (new)

Brian Clopper Just curious, but how does everyone feel about this topic. I love Middle Grade, but feel it doesn't get the same attention as Young Adult. I like both but find more work fitting my desire for adventure over romance is labeled Middle Grade instead of Young Adult.

As a fifth grader teacher, I populate my class library with more MG than YA simply because I know I won't be exposing my students to material their parents might find not suitable.

Is MG perceived as dependable and lukewarm and YA as sexy and lively?

message 2: by Rebecca (new)

Rebecca Douglass (rdouglass) | 1667 comments Mod
Well, I think YA IS more sexy. . . in just the ways you don't want in a 5th grade classroom! Seriously, people are more likely to consider MG to be written just for kids, while YA is written at a more or less adult level (I think not really, but for most people close enough). The best MG is accessible to kids without writing down to them, and is great for readers of all ages. I know I much prefer reading MG over YA, partly because of typical subject matter.

message 3: by M.G. (new)

M.G. King (mgking) | 728 comments Check out the thread (five threads below this one) WHAT DEFINES MIDDLE GRADE. We're having a great discussion on this!

message 4: by Bobbi (new)

Bobbi (bobbichukran) It's great to see conversation about this subject here. I'm having a heckuva time deciding whether my new PRINCESS PRIMROSE book is middle grade, tweens or early YAs. Somebody said the "voice" sounds middle grade, which is fine with me. But I do think that YAs are seen as being more marketable (well, duh! LOL), more sexy and maybe even more literary than the MG books. I'll definitely check out the other thread. bobbi c.