Goodreads Reviewers' Group discussion

Experienced Reviewers

Comments Showing 1-17 of 17 (17 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Rebecca, The Constant Reader (new)

Rebecca (rebeccas_books) | 340 comments Mod
If any of you experienced reviewers out there would like to offer advice to people just starting out, please post it here :)

message 2: by Jennie (new)

Jennie  Coull | 42 comments Don't get caught up in what other people think, you either liked or disliked a book and thats your opinion, don't be afraid to go against the grain!

message 3: by Cora, Tea Party Princess (new)

Cora Tea Party Princess (corazie) | 661 comments Mod
I'd say I'm just starting out myself, as I only started reviewing books properly this year, but I'd definitely say that you shouldn't worry about what other people think, your review is yours. It should impart your feelings about the book, whether good or bad. But constructive criticism is good and you should listen to people on that note.

message 4: by Raevyn (new)

Raevyn "Lucia" [I'm in it for the books] (raevynstar) | 62 comments Try not to summarize too much. Don't write (and this is a full review I used to have) "The BEST Goosebumps I've read!" and leave it at that. Write what set it apart.

message 5: by ~ Rose ~ ☯Desert Rose❀ (last edited Jul 19, 2013 06:43PM) (new)

~ Rose ~ ☯Desert Rose❀ (butterscotchbubbles) | 78 comments Biggest pet peeve (in book reviewing) and best advice I can give: don't make your review too short (as Raevyn said above), but don't give away too many details, either. You're not writing a book report for school. It doesn't need to be written in a way that proves you read it, full of key moments and details, with your opinions on every little thing. Far too many reviewers today do this, and it's not good. When you're writing a general review, it needs to be just that- a general review of your overall opinion.