Thriller Chat with Chris Allen discussion

General > Made a discovery

Comments Showing 1-6 of 6 (6 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Steve (new)

Steve Smy (steveksmy) | 37 comments I've made a discovery! I have an inadequate 'thriller ability'. I've tried to introduce elements of 'the thriller' in a couple of my books (one published and one a WIP), and I'm pretty sure it's not working :( I have no direct experience of the kind of action involved, relying instead on gleanings from war memoirs and other thrillers, but I'm really not sure I've got it right. Surely not every thriller writer has 'been there, done that' for real?

message 2: by Samuel (last edited Aug 25, 2013 01:11AM) (new)

Samuel  | 9 comments Absolutely Steve. All the great thriller writers who defined the genre for generations, Robert Ludlum (actor), Tom Clancy (insurance salesman) Fredrick Forsyth (Journalist) did not have military experience and yet sold millions of thrillers. Instead, they relied on good research, asking the right people for data to put into their books, Clancy went to his neighbours who were former US Navy and came up with The Hunt For Red October, Forsyth had made friends with Charles De Gaulle's bodyguards and made The Day Of The Jackal while Ludlum had friends in the CIA from his college days and came up with the Jason Bourne trilogy and numerous other works.

So you don't have to have fired a gun or gone to war to make the action in your books realistic, just do the right research (reading war memoirs is a good start by the way :) and/or find people who have had the proper experiences to go over your drafts to tell you if the action is realistic enough.

message 3: by Chris (new)

Chris Allen (intrepidallen) | 30 comments Mod