Goodreads Librarians Group discussion

note: This topic has been closed to new comments.
Policies & Practices > Report Abuse

Comments Showing 1-43 of 43 (43 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Just My Opinion (justmyopinionnh) | 9 comments Could someone please tell me if it's every allowed for someone to add a new cover to a book without the author's permission? I am an assistant to an author who was having a cover reveal TODAY and someone went on GoodReads last night, a librarian, and added her new cover last night. I specifically hadn't added it yesterday and NEVER asked anyone to do it as I can do it myself.

I didn't think unauthorized changes were allowed. I'd also like to know where this person GOT the cover from as we hadn't released it to anyone other than those signed up for the reveal.

How do I report this abuse and ensure it can't happen again??

Thanks so much!

message 2: by Deon (last edited Jun 06, 2013 11:24AM) (new)

Deon (deonva) | 3379 comments on a side issue:
some of your book changes have been reverted. Please re-read the section of the manual on alternate-cover editions.

We do not delete covers.
Please do not change the data on the existing GR entry. If there has been a change, a new record needs to be created. GR policy

Just My Opinion (justmyopinionnh) | 9 comments I am a librarian. I am an authors assistant. I was going to put up her new novel cover this morning per an agreement I had set up. We had set up a cover reveal for this novel today. One of those bloggers changed the cover of the novel on their own without being asked. This caused some serious issues and headaches for me as it wasn't supposed to be changed on GR until later. I have contacted the individual and apparently she has done this previously for other authors.

My questions are these: shouldn't someone be ASKED before they are allowed to make a change such as a cover image? And also, where can I report this to GR if it continues?