Beta Reader Group discussion

I looking to become a beta reader.....

Comments Showing 1-11 of 11 (11 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Bethany (last edited Jun 04, 2013 12:50PM) (new)

Bethany | 5 comments I am thinking of becoming a BETA reader, i will admit i have never done it before, i spoke to a few who have they have said that your basically looking for spelling errors, what you think of the plot, and general over all notes, if some could maybe offer some advice of what you need to do as BETA reader, also if anyone was interested in me becoming a BETA reader for them let me know i will post more details, i enjoy reading romance Books (Modern romance/Youny adults/adult romance/contemporary romance/erotic (romance)/Romantic suspence)

Many thanks
Beth....

message 2: by Lin (new)

Lin | 213 comments Mod
I would suggest building up your bookshelf so people can get an idea of what you like as a reader, and I'd be very careful about your own spelling and punctuation, to be honest - if you're expecting to help someone out in checking for errors, it helps if you demonstrate you can recognise correct writing ;)
Other than that, it's generally "read testing" a book - is it interesting, does it flow well, at what points are you confused/bored/excited/more interested, can you spot any plot holes, etc.
I found a good explanation of a beta reader's role here - http://www.smallbluedog.com/what-make...

message 3: by Bethany (new)

Bethany | 5 comments Thank you replying, i only looked into it recently.
I read a lot of romance books in my spare time, and i have more free time on my hands thought i would maybe give it a shot, when i have a better understanding.

Thank you for posting the link :D

message 4: by Kevis (last edited Jun 04, 2013 01:19PM) (new)