Goodreads Librarians Group discussion

Book Issues > Don't librarians need the authors consent before they upload books?

Comments Showing 1-15 of 15 (15 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Louise (new)

Louise Payne (LouisePayneUK) Hello Goodreads Librarians, I am an author who has noticed that a goodreads librarian has added one of my unpublished books to goodreads with an incorrect book cover. I have read through some of the comments in this group and understand that this may not be able to be changed. This has also happened before on another one of my books. Is it possible to have a goodreads librarian to contact me directly to sort this issue out?

message 2: by Sandra (new)

Sandra  (myfictionnook) | 265 comments Any member can add a book, even books that aren't published yet but are expected to be published, i.e. the next book in a series, or a new series an author has announced (See Cassandra Clare). If I interpret the rules correctly, a cover can be changed to the correct one unless a book has been published with the cover currently showing, and then gets a new cover, which then requires a 'alternate cover' edition.

Will the book that was added to the database be published at some point?

message 3: by Louise (new)

Louise Payne (LouisePayneUK) Yes it will be, but I have no idea where the current cover came from as that is not the cover I am using for that title. I would very much like to know where that cover came from, and if it can be rectified.

message 4: by Sandra (new)

Sandra  (myfictionnook) | 265 comments If the book isn't published yet, the cover image can be changed. Upload the correct image to your profile, and post a request in this group to have the book's record updated.